Patient Reviews

Reviews for Fargo, ND Director of Refractive Surgery Dr. Vance Thompson

Finding the best ophthalmologist in Fargo, ND to perform your delicate eye surgery or treatment might seem to be an overwhelming task. We want to see you happy! Our fellowship-trained, board-certified ophthalmologist Dr. Michael Greenwood, will take every measure to ensure your privacy and comfort throughout your surgical journey— from your initial LASIK, cataract, cornea, or glaucoma consult to your surgery to all of your post-operative visits. Vance Thompson Vision – Fargo chooses to be very open with what patients are saying about their experiences here. We have compiled all of our testimonials in one convenient place for you to review at your own pace. We are grateful for those who take the time to share their stories. Read through what some of our patients have to say about their vision correction from Vance Thompson Vision. If you have any questions regarding our patient experiences or would like to submit your own patient experience, please make sure to contact us directly.

Filter30 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 25, 2019

My experience at Vance Thomspon Vision was exceptional. The entire staff went above and beyond to help/explain the process of PRK. I would highly recommend VTV to anyone looking for Lasik or any questions regarding the procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 19, 2018

Vance Thompson is the best place I've ever been to great staff and highly recomend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

My experience was very professional and at the same time extremely caring. I would definitely recommend Vance Thompson Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 08, 2018

At my age (class of 67) that dreaded night blindness crept into my life and I was directed to Vance Thompson Vision. Upon walking to the front desk and was instantly put at ease as they greeted me like I was the most important person there. Long story short I was asked if I would like to participate in an FDA study project and met up with Dr. Berdahl, whose enthusiasm to help me was contagious and put me at ease . He really blew me away following my surgery when he sent m...e a text that evening, that if I had any questions or concerns during the night to call him on his cell?!! , WOW, Everyone that I have come in contact there seem to follow his lead as all have been great, especially my Study Group "Boss" , Samantha who has kept me on schedule, informed and my favorite Patsy Cline tunes in the background. Her Parents must be so Proud ! I walked in with basically 20 / 60+ vision and even though I am still recovering I am already at 20/25 and the world is so bright. The glasses have been tossed and I'm loven it! I was asked how I felt at my last followup and the only thing I could say was "FANTABULUS"!! , More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 06, 2018

I had PRK done and absolutely enjoyed my experience with the friendly, Vance Thompson Vision team and would highly recommend them! The team of people have such optimism and are joyful to be around. You can tell they love what they do and are very helpful! I'm so thankful to be able to see without contacts now! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 10, 2018

Wonderful eye care! Would recommend Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 27, 2018

I couldn’t have had a better experience than I did at Vance Thompson. I Highly recommend them for your eye care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 07, 2018

Had Lasix done and I'm AMAZED at the staff how well you are treated! Highly recommend Vance and his team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 06, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser vision correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 02, 2018

It has been almost six months since I had my LASIK procedure and it has been life-changing to wake up with crystal clear vision. I have been wearing glasses or contacts for the past 16 years, but I now have 20/15 vision! Everyone from the schedulers to the people at the front desk to the nurses to the doctors have been incredibly kind and caring. They really take the time to get to know their patients and make their time at Vance Thompson Vision as comfortable as possible. They even have my favorite music playing when I come in for an appointment! Dr. Thompson took the time to explain the procedure fully to me and answer all of my questions. The procedure was gentle and painless and I couldn't be happier with the results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 25, 2017

We are overwhelmed by the generosity and kindness the Vance Thompson family showed us when we had to cancel Mark's eye surgery on short notice. They are truly a Christian based group. They cared about him and it showed! Mark is fine now and we will most definitely be rescheduling with them! Thank you Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 25, 2017

We are overwhelmed by the generosity and kindness the Vance Thompson family showed us when we had to cancel Mark's eye surgery on short notice. They are truly a Christian based group. They cared about him and it showed! Mark is fine now and we will most definitely be rescheduling with them! Thank you Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 18, 2017

This time last year I was pretty miserable in my current eye glasses situation. Ever since I got my first pair of contacts in 4th grade I practically lived in them. I would take them out right before bed and put them immediately back in right when I woke up. I have never been a fan of glasses. However into my adult life I started experiencing contact induced dry eye which forced me into my glasses during work hours... then soon it became all the time. It doesn't seem like tha...t big of a deal but with a prescription of -8.25 even my thinned lens were coke bottles. I also had to have very big lenses as seeing out the sides the extreme blurryness next to the corrective lenses would make me nausea... And the whole feeling like I would fall down stairs if I couldn't see the stairs through my lenses. Then they also had to be very sturdy since I have young children. So huge thick coke bottle glasses were what I had to have. Frustrating to say the least. Every morning I would get up put my contacts in so I could see in the shower, put my makeup on then take out my contacts and put my glasses on and head to work... then I would try to put sunglasses over my glasses because I have very sensitive eyes. There was just so much to it anymore. I missed the days of being able to wear contacts.... until I made the leap to have Lasik. Never would I have thought I was a candidate but I am so happy I was! Now I can wear sunglasses whenever I need to, I can work with no glasses, I can see in the shower! And the list goes on and on. I am so grateful to the entire team at Vance Thompson Vision. The whole process was smooth and easy. The actual surgery was so incredibly fast, there was slight pain but completely tolerable for about 2 hours after surgery then all of a sudden it was gone! I had my surgery on a Thursday afternoon and was back to work Friday! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 29, 2017

I had LASIK at Vance Thompson Vision and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I was really nervous and they took time to answer all my questions making sure I was completely relaxed and confident in my choice before surgery. The procedure itself was so quick and the recovery time was less than 3 hours! I was able to drive myself to my appt the next morning and I was already 20/15 in less than 24 hours! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2017

My experience was fantastic. I highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 15, 2017

So pleased that my Dad had his cataract surgery here. Amazing results and the staff is absolutely AMAZING. So patient, so kind, and so thoughtful. I can really tell that they care about older people. I will be recommending Vance and his staff to everyone!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 06, 2017

I had my Lasik surgery with Dr. Greenwood in Fargo. The whole staff was professional and courteous. I tell everyone considering Lasik or other eye surgerys to check out Vance Thompson Vision! My eyesite is the best it's ever been at 20/15. Thank you Dr. Greenwood! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 06, 2017

Both my husband and I have had wonderful experiences with Vance Thompson Vision clinic. We have come to the conclusion that they only hire people that give the very best of themselves to their patients. 5 Star clinic. Carol and Len Neugebauer More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 21, 2017

Would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision for LASIK surgery. Been very happy with my surgery from last year. Friendly and skilled staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 27, 2017

I had been considering LASIK surgery for years. I researched a number of centers in the upper Midwest and hands down, Vance Thompson Vision was my number one choice. In my research, I learned that although the cost of LASIK was less expensive in others centers, what they don't tell you about the other costs. Other centers charge an additional fee for the cost of drops, post op visits and the cost of enhancements if needed. Vance Thompson Vision was the best decision for me. Dr. Thompson and team were amazing. They answered all my questions and made the process seamless. I am seeing 20/15. Thank you Dr. Thompson and team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 13, 2017

I have had a couple of different procedures with VTV and both experiences have nothing short of Amazing. As I started getting up there in age, I had to start wearing glasses to read and see things up close. I hated trying to keep track of glasses, as I only needed them to read. I didn't like wearing them all the time because it messed up my distal vision...Then I heard about monovision. To make a long story short, I had the procedure. I no longer need glasses to read and ...my distal vision is still 20/15. Boom! Problem solved. And the procedure was way worth the investment. The second procedure was to treat my severe dry eyes. They suggested Lipaflow. It was a simple procedure (15-20 Minutes), and the results have been incredible. No more watery, irritated eyes, no more eye drops and my eyes aren't all red anymore. This place is amazing. I couldn't be happier with the friendly people who want nothing more than for me to experience the best service and have the best vision possible. I would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone looking to improve their quality of life! Thank you VTV!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 29, 2016

Vance Thompson Vision in Fargo went over the top for me today and I'm not even their patient, my mom, Linda Pagenkopf is. I have been going with my mom to her appointments and a month ago when we set her appt. for today, I laughed and said we would remember this one because of my birthday! Today, they had this wonderful birthday cake for me! I was just stunned. It warmed my heart to know that the great people at Vance Thompson Vision cared enough to do something like this for me. I truly appreciate their kindness. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 24, 2016

Such an Amazing experience my daughter Laurel had!!! Yesterday Nov 23rd, as she had PRK Laser surgery done.. The Surgery went FANTASTIC, and we Truly are Thankful for God, and Dr Vance Thompson and his ability and ALL his Staff couldn't have been Better!! And thanks for the young lady and Dr Rasmussen for working on thanksgiving so she could be seen this morning!!! If you are thinking of having any surgery with them and have doubts, they will put them all at ease!!!! Once again Thank You Vance Thompson Vision Care ? for taking Amazing care of our Girl ? Jim & Natalie Ketelhut More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 20, 2016

I just had lasik done today. It was an amazing experience at Vance Thompson Vision. The staff was genuine and I felt right at home. Everything was explicitly explained, honest feedback was given, questions answered and I was right at ease. Post op is exactly how they explained and I can see better already. Can't wait to wake up tomorrow and be even more blown away! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 09, 2016

What an amazing experience! I had my Lasix on the eve of my Birthday. The staff acknowledged my Birthday from the moment I walked in the door. First room a card and gift certificate, second room a cupcake and following surgery, (don't know if I should mention this.....) a bottle of my favorite whiskey! The Vance Thompson team are incredible. My surgery was a complete success and I couldn't be happier! THANK YOU to every one of you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 16, 2016

I had Lasik surgery on Thursday Feb 11th and I am so happy with the results! I could see immediately after surgery. My vision was very bad, it's like a dream come true! Vance Thompson did my surgery, he is amazing, very professional. The whole staff team was awesome. Great customer service! Highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision ;) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 14, 2015

I used to think Disney World was the happiest place on earth....then I hadn't LASIK consultation at Vance Thompson Vison! Seriously, EVERYONE was smiling and treated me like a queen! What a great experience!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.V.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 27, 2015

I once was blind but now I see!! Thankyou Thankyou for restoring my sight! This is a modern day miracle. Folks don't believe in miracles now days, but I do. You gift of restoring sight was meant for you. And you use it to help us. God Bless you Vance Thompson!! I am blessed to know you all.. You are ALL THE BEST! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 07, 2015

I had PRK done by Vance back in 2013 and as promised, my vision was clearer than it ever was when I had glasses. It was expensive, but it was worth every single penny. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 01, 2015

I was blind as a Bat !! -575 in one eye and -525 in the other eye my glasses where so thick they hurt my face and where very expensive to get. and now Thanks to Vance Thompson I have 15/20 ( witch is better then 20/20 : ) in one eye and 20/20 in the other I love being able to see !! No more glasses for this girl !! I can't thank him and Dr Keith Ranussen and there team enough they r Awesome !!!! My only regret is I didn't do this years ago they R Awesome!!!! You can see perfect shortly after the surgery and it didn't hurt !!! I would highly recommend Vance Thompson and his team to any one !!! Don't go out of state to get ur eyes fixed we have the best right here in Sioux Falls !!! More